We Have Work To Do

Senate OKs Bill Curbing Class Action Suits,

In the end, 18 Democrats and one independent, Sen. James Jeffords of Vermont, joined 53 Republicans in passing the bill.

[. . .] Senate opponents poured scorn on the class action bill.

“This bill is one of the most unfair, anti-consumer proposals to come before the Senate in years,” said Senate Minority Leader Harry Reid, Democrat of Nevada. “It slams the courthouse doors on a wide range of injured plaintiffs.”

“It turns federalism upside down by preventing state courts from hearing state law claims. And it limits corporate accountability at a time of rampant corporate scandals.”

The American Association of Trial Lawyers derided the bill as “dreadful public policy” sought by insurers, tobacco, drug, and chemical industries that spent millions on lobbying.

So there are still 18 Democratic Senators we have to oppose in the primaries, when they come up for re-election. We have work to do.

I know who one of them is. From a different report,

One Democrat who voted yes, Dianne Feinstein of California, said afterward that the bill was “not perfect” but that it addressed problems in the legal system.

And here are the heros:

Besides Senators Reid and Kennedy, the Democrats who voted no were Senators Hillary Rodham Clinton of New York, Barbara Boxer of California, Russell D. Feingold of Wisconsin, Debbie Stabenow of Michigan, Patty Murray of Washington, Max Baucus of Montana, Robert C. Byrd of West Virginia, Mark Dayton of Minnesota, Mark Pryor of Arkansas, Patrick J. Leahy of Vermont, Byron Dorgan of North Dakota, Joseph R. Biden Jr. of Delaware, Tom Harkin of Iowa, Carl Levin of Michigan, Frank Lautenberg and Jon Corzine, both of New Jersey, Richard Durbin of Illinois, John Kerry of Massachusetts, Daniel Inouye and Daniel Akaka, both of Hawaii, Paul Sarbanes and Barbara Mikulski, both of Maryland, Ron Wyden of Oregon and Bill Nelson of Florida.

Leave comments as you figure out who the rest of the 18 are. (I have to make dinner now.)

UpdateTHE LIST OF SHAME — Democrats voting Yes:

Bayh (D-IN)
Bingaman (D-NM)
Cantwell (D-WA)
Carper (D-DE)
Conrad (D-ND)
Dodd (D-CT)
Feinstein (D-CA)
Johnson (D-SD)
Kohl (D-WI)
Landrieu (D-LA)
Lieberman (D-CT)
Lincoln (D-AR)
Nelson (D-NE)
Obama (D-IL)
Reed (D-RI)
Rockefeller (D-WV)
Salazar (D-CO)
Schumer (D-NY)